Spacer for Navbar
Meadows near Muker

Welcome to Yorkshire: the 'County of Broad Acres'

Yorkshire is the largest county in the United Kingdom, earning it the title 'County of Broad Acres'. In 1901, Yorkshire consisted of almost four million acres, as many as there are letters in the Bible, supposedly. Perhaps this gave rise to another of its nicknames – 'God's Own Country'. Historically, the county was divided into three geographical areas, called Trithings, later corrupted into Ridings. The Ridings were named in respect of their position to the City of York and termed North, West and East respectively. However, the ridings were abolished in 1974 by the boundary commission, with large areas of Yorkshire lopped off into neighbouring counties and North Humberside was created to replace the East Riding. In 1996 North Humberside was reclaimed and returned to its former name as the East Riding of Yorkshire. Despite these changes, Yorkshire remains the largest county in the realm spanning 2.9 million acres.

Unlike smaller, more compact counties which comprise most of their treasures within a limited area, Yorkshire is broad, sprawling and abundant in its offerings. With its wide-sweeping moorland, high fell-tops, deep valleys, lush meadows and pastures, every square mile of this beautiful county possesses remarkable delights. Its rivers begin as tiny trickles in the hills, but they waste no time in swelling out, tumbling over falls, and form into sizeable streams, before merging with other rivers sweeping - as most of them do - into the magnificent Humber.

The County of Broad Acres has a rich and eventful history to which countless monuments, ancient castles and abbeys, magnificent stately homes bear witness. These include the Minsters of York, Beverley and Ripon, Castle Howard, Harewood House, Nostell Priory, Helmsley Castle and many others. The list is vast – as is the County of Broad Acres. Her Master's Walks and Let's Walk are a series of books, which provide a glimpse into some of these features while enjoying the beautiful and diverse landscape.

Let's Walk

The Cleveland Way

Yorkshire Coast

Many people who have purchased the books from the Her Master's Walks series suggested the production a long distance guide for routes such as the Coast to Coast, Pennine Way and the Cleveland Way. Hence the new book, Let's Walk the Cleveland Way and the start of a new series. There are nine individual stages in this guide, and all of them finish in or within easy reach of a village where accommodation or transport is available. Each section has been split into three or four strip maps with grid references and arrow pointers, which follow in the style of the Her Master's Walks series. The maps and directions have been checked by the Cleveland Way's National Trail Officer for accuracy. The book is illustrated throughout with full-colour photographs.

The latest book is Let's Walk the Yorkshire Coast, once again, the routes follow in the mapping style of Her Master's Walks and the accuracy of the maps has been checked by the North York Moors National Park. Illustrated throughout with 29 colour photographs which help to identify some of the prominent features seen during the walks.

Her Master's Walks

Her Master's Walks are a series of walking books covering the area of the Yorkshire Dales National Park and the North York Moors National Park. The first four books explore Swaledale, Wensleydale and Wharfedale. The fifth book Her Master's Walks in the Hambleton Hills began an introduction to the North York Moors. Her Master's Walks in Teesdale introduced to the beautiful and distinctive landscape of the North Pennines AONB, the second largest designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in England. The last book Her Master's Walks in the Howardian Hills visits the beautiful rolling countryside of the Howardian Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, which provides excellent prospects for walkers. A diverse network of footpaths and bridleways offer a superb selection of routes ranging from riverside rambles to scenic hill walks. The series continues to be popular with walkers who require precise, easy to follow maps with clear directions.

Yorkshire Walking Books

Contact | Site Map